Rigging my model character Part 5

I have used part 5,6,7 and 8 to finish off the rig for my model here are the links to those videos in the tutorial; part 5 https://youtu.be/4ThsKRAVukQ, part 6 https://youtu.be/8UFGgu2n_Kc, part 7 https://youtu.be/3fwJnWGEEm8 and part 8 https://youtu.be/XSTwYJbTXuk. I Started by adding another control for the chest where I have done the same thing with the hip control, so by using the controller editor in the windows menu I was able to attach the roll and twist to the rotate X and rotate Z to make it easier to animate those actions with the control.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So I then made the head control where I used the curve and like the others used the outline to attach a point constrain and orient constrain. Make sure with this one you check the orient constrain so it has the all box ticked as you will need all the X,Y and Z axis for the head movement. After making the head control you need to have all the controls attached correctly. So in the outliner move the arm controls into the chest control by dragging it on top. Then attach the chest control to the hips and attach the head to the chest, along with the spine control which is attached to the hips as well. Now you need a master control that will move everything together at the same time. This is done by going to Create> CV Curve tool. So having the grid on you can attach the curves to the grid to draw out your shape for the control. In this tutorial the control is a arrow, so I decided to stick with that to help me figure out how to do it. Anyway making this control you can add the hips with everything that was attached to that control to the master control and rename the control Master_CTRL so you can move everything with this control.

A major issue I have though is moving the controls and you notice that the mesh starts to go dis-formed and broken this is because we haven’t painted any weight onto the rig to make it move naturally with natural body shapes. So go to Skin> Paint weights tool, this will allow you to select individual parts of the body and apply either black or white to the mesh. White means affected when moved and black is not affected. Before doing this I made a simple 24 frame animation where the character moves body parts all at the same time, so you can go to frame 24 and paint the weights onto the rig. So I turned the head, as seen above I painted the weights onto the rig, so the head is white (completely affected) and the rest of the body is black to show it should not be affected when moved. This part can be difficult as some parts accidentally are changed making it a nightmare to go through and keep changing everything.

Now I have completed the rig tutorial series, but because I have no joints in the hands I may go back through and add the hand joints into the joint chain so that if I do animate this rig the mesh will all move and the weights will be fully edited and painted appropriately. Now I shall got through this rig and make sure everything moves as it should allowing me to have a working rig for animating.

Leave a Reply

