Modelling a character part 4 (final part)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Today I continued the process of making the mini man model from the YouTube tutorial 4 part series https://youtu.be/Vm9BB6jD52U?list=PLozD5GE_BHskSTGqjNbaCC_lfhJjUKFW8. Above is a slideshow of the process in which I created the mini man model whilst following the different instructions in the tutorial. Starting the tutorial I was tasked to add some more edge loops to the foot, knee, shoulder, elbow, thumb and fingers. This was because when it comes to rigging the character you need to have some additional polygons for the joints to move naturally and not disrupt/ break the mesh when you move part of the character. By going to Mesh tools>Insert edge loop, I was able to easily add the various edge loops in the appropriate places by doing one part of the body at a time, following the tutorial step by step.

After smoothing out the model I noticed and the commentator noticed that the hand and shoulders needed adjusting as they seemed to stand out for the wrong reason, because the shoulder seemed to lumpy for the character and part of the index finger looked out of place. Starting of with the index finger in the tutorial I realised that the index finger had two vertices making it look out of place as I forgot to merge the vertices after combing the mesh. Therefore it was quite a simple fix as by selecting the appropriate vertex I was able to find both of the vertices and use the merge tool, Edit mesh>merge to merge both the vertices together into one vertex.

After completing part of the tutorial I realised that there was a extra set of vertices are causing the hand mesh to look out of place. Looking around the hand I found the vertexes that were not suitable. Therefore I decided to merge these out of place vertices together to make a suitable mesh that when smoothed will not look out of place. Looking at the mesh afterwards I noticed that when I smoothed the hand using 3 the hand looked much better compared to it’s previous look. The next step was to improve the shoulder, looking at how bulky the shoulder was I used the scale tool, R, to move the edges and vertexes around to make the shoulder more curved and naturally looking for this character.

After improving the noticeable errors with the model, I followed the tutorial to duplicate and combine the mesh together. So using the duplicate special menu I changed it from an instance, to a copy with the same settings. Furthermore I have been able to make a duplicate of the model to make a whole. But of course I cannot forget that I need to merge the vertexes, by selecting the vertexes in the middle of the model I used the Edit mesh>merge allowing me to have single vertexes for the middle of the model. Looking at the model in the smoothed out way I noticed following the tutorial that the neck is not round enough. Therefore I moved the 4 corners in using the move and scale tool to help make a more rounded shape for the neck. After I moved the shoulder edges up to make make a more natural curve for the shoulders.

Finally I simply looked at the model and went through the mesh manipulating the edge loops to make a more natural shape for the joints. Plus the legs seemed a little short compared to the reference image so moving the vertexes knee down, I moved the vertexes down to make sure the legs are a similar length to the reference images. Feeling happy with my interpretation of the model I made a  duplicate of the model to have a smooth and rough model to show the differences in how the model looks. Following this tutorial I think that my model has come out nicely and has followed the instructions carefully to provide a smooth model that follows natural anatomy.

Leave a Reply

