Modelling a character part 2

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Below is the tutorial (part 2) that I followed to make the additions to my version of this character model.

This is the model for part 2 of the modelling tutorial series using the previous post/ tutorial as the use. Using the tutorial I found out I needed to develop the mesh so that I mirror each of the developments for the arms and legs for the character. Therefore using the tutorial I selected all the faces on the left hand side of the character model. Then Edit>duplicate special>box making sure that the object is a instance and the X axis is -1,000 this will allow me to create a duplicate of the original mesh but the opposite side of the character, making a complete mirrored version of the character. So now I can make extrusions on the same side at the same time by only editing one side of the model.

The second step of this tutorial was to make the legs for this character. So using the Extrusion tool I extruded a small part to start off the process for the leg, then using the scale and move tools (R and W) making it flat and suitable for extruding into the leg. After doing this I used the extrusion tool (Ctrl E) which allowed me to form the base mesh for the leg shape. Making the leg I used the tutorial to make another extrusion using the bottom face of the leg to match the foot on the side view. Using the side view reference image, I made the foot shape using the front faces in the perspective view I managed to develop the shapes of the feet, using the vertexes to manipulate the mesh of the feet.

After manipulating the foot mesh to meet the similar looks as the tutorial I moved onto making the arms. As the mesh is mirrored I was able to extrude the shoulders out from the sides of the torso in the perspective tool. Extruding the shoulders I edited the vertexes to be moved up and in to match the shape of the shoulders of the reference image, whilst making the face facing out from the torso is flat. Now I used the extrusion tool anther three times to make the upper arm to the elbow, elbow to lower arm and the wrist mesh. Having all three of these meshes I needed to make the arm a bit more rounded as it seemed a little to flat.

So using the Insert edge loop tool, I added an extra edge loop that goes through the middle of the arm and the rest of the character model, to allow me to make the shape of the arm more round. In edge mode I selected the 4 corners of the arm and used the scale tool (R) to scale the arms in on the x axis and the y axis. This allowed me to form a rounded arm shape and by using the reference image in the front view I moved the arm up to match the image. However as I had a new edge loop I had to go through the mesh and edit the edges to be more rounded on the head and legs.

So to start with I selected the 4 corners on the leg to allow me to move them in, making the new edge loop stick out for the more rounded shape. As I have the mirrored mesh both sides were edited at the same time. With the torso and feet I followed the tutorial to move the vertexes to make some more natural looking shapes for this character, so when it comes to smoothing out the character all the shapes smooth out naturally. With the head I selected the back edges of the head and moved them in to make a more rounded square shape, so looking in the top view I could see the rounded shape of the head.

Leave a Reply

