15 second Gestural Drawing using Charcoal

img_1863

Yesterday I was tasked to draw three gestural drawings per person that posed in the centre of the class. We had to draw the poses using charcoal drawing the basic shapes of the pose, avoiding drawing the skeleton or silhouette. The ticks and crosses on the page were done by someone else who looked through my drawings and ticked which drawings were good for character designs and which were not (cross).

Looking through my drawings I think that my drawings got better over the course of the session, as at the beginning of the lesson they look disproportionate whereas at the end of the lesson the drawings are more proportionate. Therefore I think that I should practise more of making quick and rough gestural drawings for poses, as I think I need to practise drawing poses with those proportionate features to make the drawings look more natural looking.

Leave a Reply

