Lost Ball with wire hat

This task carries on from the previous post where I made a follow through and staging ball with a wire animation. But for this animation I had to create an animation of a ball looking left to right and back again to make the ball look like it is lost. So acting out the action of looking left to right and then left again, I counted that the animation would be roughly 3 seconds (1 second for each turn). So I started sketching out the key poses in Toon Boom using the conte brush, to get that hand drawn look to it, allowing me to have a more natural brush for me to draw as if I was drawing on paper.

Lost_ball_hat_spring_.png

The image above is my mischief file, where I have drawn out some poses where the ball will turn around or look in different ways to appear to look lost. I looked at expression sheets of flour sacks online to help me see ways of manipulating a shape to see how the ball could be stretched to appear as it is alive and lost. The blocking animation of the keyframes is in the video below, which is a basic video of just the keyframes where the ball is looking from one side to the other.

Then after making the blocking for the keyframes, I began adding the break frames for the animation to help me figure out how the ball would move and how the wire would follow through after the ball has moved. After using the drawings in Mischief as reference I sketched out the break frames for the main inbetween poses from keyframe to keyframe as seen below.

Now using my mischief reference drawings I went through adding all the inbetween frames for the animation, making the video below. The ball moves left to right and back again with the wire on top following through facing in front of the ball. What helped me with the animation of the wire is I made a video of myself having my keys on a lanyard and putting it on my head. Then by turning quickly using the timing I figured out I had a reference video to see how the wire would move as the ball looked around. However I feel that the follow through could be improved as it simply follows the ball and not really drags behind the ball, so perhaps with some feedback I could improve this later on.

Looking at the video above I decided to add a camera, that we learned how to use in the previous lesson. So by using the same method of adding a peg to the camera and drawing layers I was able to manipulate the pathways to make an arc shape. By using the controls form the left hand menu View> controls I was able to adjust the path by adding more pegs by pressing P while the mouse cursor was over the pathway line. Adding the camera allowed me to push the ball backwards using the transform tool and the perspective view to make it seem like the ball was getting closer to the camera. Then as I mentioned before manipulating the pathway I panned the camera from left to right to help the ball seem like it is moving around as it gets closer to the camera, as it looks lost.

Watching this animation through I think that the ball looks lost and moves nicely with the camera movement. However the follow through for the wire does not seem to look right, perhaps it should be altered to drag further behind. But I think getting peer feedback should be able to help me in figuring out a way to improve the animation.

Leave a Reply

