Pendulum arc animation In Toon Boom Harmony

One of the next principles I learned this week in Toon boom was arcs, these help to make the animation have nice flowing curves to help make an animation look more natural when it is moving. For instance in Maya these can be edited in a graph editor to help make for example a bouncing ball move naturally, losing more energy with each bounce. However as this is a pendulum the animation has been slightly different to what I have done previously. This is because the pendulum is moving in a circular motion as it swings around. Due to perspective the pendulum will be smaller as it gets further away from the audience, so this means it will be large at the front and small at the back.

But I also learned that the images either side of this pendulum animation, need to be exactly the same size to make the animation work effectively. So to make them exactly the same in a hand drawn animation I used the grid tool in menu above the stage. This is useful because it has numbers and compass directions. For this animation we need the numbers, this means whatever I draw on the left has to be the exact same as on the right. So using the numbers I managed to get the balls the exact same size. But the rest of the animation is  a bit more tricky. But below is a basic blocked animation of the four main keyframes and the break frames to help demonstrate what I have mentioned.

The reason for this is because the ball will get smaller and smaller as it goes around the circle. This meas I need to get the balls inbetween each of the key poses o get larger or smaller depending on where they are in the timeline. But by drawing out a circle shape I was able to place the balls in that circular shape so it keeps the swinging animation natural. But rather than animating pose to pose like previous animations, I had to try out a new technique. This is where you inbetween each of the key poses you press F5 on the keyboard.

This makes a duplicate frame of the previous keyframe so that all you inbetween frames are filled with the same frame until the next key pose. Then using the slice keyframe tool I was able to draw out the next frame in the animation with the original keyframe still in the frame. This kind of works like the onion skin tool but it is basically a cut out from the original. Then after you have made a new pose you simply rub out the original keyframe so you have the motion you want. But what I realised is you need to rub it out on the original keyframe as well otherwise you will have two balls on one frame.

This is my final rendered animation as you can see I have used premiere pro to make a loop animation to help show you how I have animated it to get a better look at the swing animation. Because I did not make a keyframe at the very end of the animation I have been able to make the animation flow straight back to the beginning and flow nicely. I think this animation has come out pretty well as the ball gets smaller as it gets further away. My only personal criticism is that some of the frames look a little off to me when they go around that circular shape making some of the frames look a little out of place.

Leave a Reply

