Weighted Bouncy ball Animation (edited)

This is a bouncy ball animation with two balls in the scene, where I have made two different weighted bouncy balls, which are light on the left and heavy on the right. This has allowed me to demonstrate my understanding of the different ways to animate a bouncy ball. I have used the graph editor to make the balls bounce at different times and in a different way. For instance the bouncing ball that is light will bounce with a squash and stretch movement, whereas the heavy ball will only have a slight squash and stretch, but less compared to the light ball. Once again I have made a plane using the polygon primitives menu to help me have a surface for the ball to bounce on. Furthermore I have made the balls bounce in one specific place compared to bouncing across the stage as it allowed me to learn more about the weight of the ball than the actual movement.

heavy_bouncy_ball_graph_editor_

Using the graph editor to help me animate I changed the stepped lines to a plateau line this is because it will allow me to move the lines on the graph so that I can adjust the motion of the ball. This of course is the heavy ball, as it moves with fewer bounces, that are more spaced out with each on the arcs showing that the ball takes longer to get back up the arc than it goes going down. Using the graph editor and the play blast feature allowed me to adjust the ball so that it looked more natural than the previous blocking post. But to make the tangents (the lines on the arc to adjust it) move I had to go into Windows>settings/preferences> preferences then in the menu I selected auto key which helped to make sure that when I key selected the first frame, when I moved the ball it would automatically key the animation. In addition I selected the weight tangents, this allowed me to adjust the curves on the graph allowing me to make the ball move more naturally to suit the way of gravity on the ball.

light_bouncy_ball_graph_editor_

This is the graph editor for the light bouncy ball, which has a lot more arcs in the animation. This is due to the 12 principle of animation, Squash and Stretch that  I use to help show the exaggeration of a bouncing ball. As it bounces like the heavy ball it loses energy making the arcs half in size, unlike the heavy ball which loses energy quickly, the lighter ball loses energy a lot slower, allowing the ball to bounce more as it squashes and stretches as it bounces along. By adjusting the graph like before I was able to move the arc so that they are more curved (adjusted tangents) and the height of the arc I was able to make the ball move more naturally unlike the blocking, making the animation look more refined and have the natural bounce that you would see.

Leave a Reply

